Directed by Jonathan Higgs...
Everything Everything

Staccato. Falsetto.

Funny how virtually every aspect of Everything Everything can be depicted using Italian terms. For such an English proposition - steeped in a very British art-pop tradition - they sure do go continental from time to time...

New single 'Don't Try' is set to be released on June 16th, a highlight from their second album 'Arc'. All jerky guitars and vocals which veer into the upper register, the track comes equipped with a video crafted by frontman Jonathan Higgs.

According to the singer, 'Don't Try' is a song about release, about letting go. "'Don't Try' is about letting it out and this video is all about absolute abandon" he said. "You can keep it in inside but it always comes out in the end one way or another, or it destroys you. I was inspired by the way repressing a mind can often make a person wildly creative, and I thought lot of dark imagery in paintings of hell were especially direct. I wanted to try and bring classic paintings to life in as much colour and expression as possible."

Watch it now.

- - -

Everything Everything are set to hit the road in October. Pairing up with fellow Manchester types (and close friends) Dutch Uncles, the dates are as follows:

4 Newcastle O2 Academy
11 Manchester Ritz SOLD OUT
12 Manchester Ritz
13 Liverpool O2 Academy
15 Bristol O2 Academy
16 Portsmouth Pyramid
17 Cardiff University
18 Birmingham Institute
20 Norwich UEA
21 Nottingham Rock City
22 Sheffield O2 Academy
24 London Forum
25 London Forum

Click here to buy tickets for Everything Everything!

Get the best of Clash on your iPhone - download the app here


Follow Clash: