It's out in May...

Legendary vocalist Mark Lanegan has shared plans for his new album 'Straight Songs Of Sorrow'.

The American artist completed his memoir Sing Backwards and Weep last year, a genuinely riveting read from someone who has spent his life on the margins.

New album 'Straight Songs Of Sorrow' is informed by his experiences writing the book, and it's set to land later in the year.

“Writing the book, I didn’t get catharsis,” he comments. “All I got was a Pandora’s box full of pain and misery. I went way in, and remembered shit I’d put away 20 years ago. But I started writing these songs the minute I was done, and I realised there was a depth of emotion because they were all linked to memories from this book.”

“It was a relief to suddenly go back to music. Then I realised that was the gift of the book: these songs. I’m really proud of this record.”

Released via Heavenly Recordings - pre-order LINK - it's led by bold new song 'Skeleton Key'.

Tune in now.

1. I Wouldn't Want To Say
2. Apples From A Tree
3. This Game Of Love
4. Ketamine
5. Bleed All Over
6. Churchbells, Ghosts
7. Internal Hourglass Discussion
8. Stockholm City Blues
9. Skeleton Key
10. Daylight In The Nocturnal House
11. Ballad of the Dying Rover
12. Hanging On (For DRC)
13. At Zero Below
14. Eden Lost And Found

Join us on the ad-free creative social network Vero, as we get under the skin of global cultural happenings. Follow Clash Magazine as we skip merrily between clubs, concerts, interviews and photo shoots. Get backstage sneak peeks, exclusive content and access to Clash Live events and a true view into our world as the fun and games unfold.



Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.