DFA lynchpin returns

The forgotten man of DFA Records may be about to get his due with The Juan MacLean set to release a new album.

John MacLean was originally a member of underground rock act Six Finger Satellite, whose sound engineer went by the name of James Murphy. His rig? Death From Above.

One of the first acts signed to DFA Records, The Juan MacLean craft a stunning mix of pioneering techno and house sounds. Singles 'Happy House' and 'By The Time I Get To Venus' have become dancefloor staples, while debut album 'Less Than Human' was a stunning artistic success.

Yet The Juan MacLean has struggled to escape the shadow cast by old friend and boss (of sorts) James Murphy. New album 'The Future Will Come' will hopefully change that featuring pop songs that continually experiment with the form.

As the artist himself says in a statement “in my career as The Juan MacLean, my guiding principle was to start out more dance-y and instrumental, and someday bow out making flat-out, three-and-a-half minute pop songs.”

The Juan MacLean release new album 'The Future Will Come' on April 13th.

Follow Clash: