It's out on May 27th...

Erland Cooper has shared details of his new compilation 'Holm'.

The record is drawn from material produced during his Orkney trilogy, a lauded triptych that hinges on the culture, history, and people of the Scottish archipelago.

New project 'Holm' essentially bookends the trilogy, a collection of variations, B-sides and reworkings by artists and friends.

The tracklisting contains some absolute pearls, including contributions from Isobel Waller-Bridge, Hayden Thorpe, Marta Salogni, Daniel Pioro, Vince Pope, Simeon Walker, Alex Kozobolis, Paul Weller, and more.

As Erland puts it: "A collection of variations and B-sides gathered around solo piano from across my Orkney trilogy but performed or reinterpreted by various artists I admire. To me this is like seeing the form of an island reflected on moving water.”

Out on May 27th via Phases, it's led by a gorgeous re-working of 'Haar over Hamnavoe' by Bill Ryder-Jones.

The Wirral artist comments: "I've been a fan of Erland since he told me he was a fan of mine, I am however also a big fan of his music and being asked to rework such a wonderful piece of was a pleasure and an honour..."

Tune in now.

Photo Credit: Alex Kozobolis

Join us on the ad-free creative social network Vero, as we get under the skin of global cultural happenings. Follow Clash Magazine as we skip merrily between clubs, concerts, interviews and photo shoots. Get backstage sneak peeks, exclusive content and access to Clash Live events and a true view into our world as the fun and games unfold.



Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: