Get inside the mind of the Audio Doughnuts newcomer…
Will Ward

Just ask Sporty Spice; it’s not always easy to leave a well-known group to make it on your own.

Will Ward’s name might not yet be as familiar as that of his previous endeavour (East London group Circle Traps), but a series of tight releases on Deadplate Records and Audio Doughnuts have seen the film and TV sound designer on top solo form.

Clash recently selected Ward’s ‘Chorus Memory’ EP as one of our top dance releases of May - with the screwball dancefloor obliterator ‘Cage’ being the standout track.

Now providing an exclusive mix for Clash, the producer lays out three of his own tracks while digging out some tough, complimentary sounds.

Kicking off with some weirdo tech courtesy of Aleqs Notal and Basic Soul Unit’s Chicago-leaning ‘Dank’, Will guides us through a hot mélange of dark jacking house and big room tech.

Press play below.

1. Will Ward - Island Bass
2. Aleqs Notal - Ancient Theory
3. Basic Soul Unit - Dank
4. Will Ward - Untitled
5. Bambounou - Night
6. Untold - Motion The Dance
7. Peja - Can You Hear The Bees (Tan Cook Remix)
8. Savas Pascalidis - Interlock (Maan RMX)
9. Truncate - Bipolar
10. Larry Heard - The Sun Can't Compare
11. Will Ward - Space Bells

Words: Felicity Martin

- - -

‘Chorus Memory’ is out now on Audio Doughnuts, available digitally and on vinyl.

Buy Clash Magazine

Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android


Follow Clash: