To raise your dancefloor spirits…
Mumbai Science

DJs and producers are, to all intents and purposes, scientists of the non-chemical variety. Belgian boys Jonas Kiesekoms and Maarten Elen, aka Mumbai Science, have been taking their lab on the road for a while, touring before coming to a studio stop for the assembly of their debut LP.

An album that shakes its musical fist at moral decline and corporate totalitarianism, ‘Déjà Vu’ is a ruff ‘n’ ready vision of dance music that boasts input from Peaches and legendary acid house crew Phuture.

Now take a moment to imagine what would feature on the soundtrack to your ideal night out. This is exactly what the duo have done on this exclusive DJ mix for Clash. Quite simply, an “eclectic take on a perfect night out dancing”.

- - -

- - -

Says the pair: “No boundaries, just playful music to get those hips moving. It’s a mix that works both on the dancefloor as well as on a road trip. Just the way we wanted our album to sound.

“It contains some early Belgian rave, a bit of dirty basement house, and a lot of warehouse techno. Including, of course, our original tracks: ‘Déjà Vu’, ‘King Of The Top Floor (ft. DJ Spank-Spank from Phuture)’ and ‘Whistleblower (ft. Peaches)’. Never too serious, always a bit cheeky. We hope this selection will broaden your horizons. Suggested drink to accompany this mix: Highland Park, 30-years-old.”


Mumbai Science - ‘Déjà Vu’ (Lektroluv Records)
Bot & Wafa - ‘MSMFN’ (Main Course)
LeBreton - ‘Hadron’ (Blood Music)
Gunrose - ‘Go Fast’ (White)
Alex Metric & Oliver - ‘Hope’ (OWSLA)
Outlander - ‘Vamp’ (R&S)
Mumbai Science - ‘Whistleblower (ft. Peaches)’ (Lektroluv Records)
Hercules & Love Affair - ‘Raid’ (Moshi Moshi Records)
TWR72 - ‘Copy’ (Turbo Recordings)
Mumbai Science - ‘King Of The Top Floor’ (Lektroluv Records)
Toddla T Sound - ‘Acid’ (Defected)
Tiga Vs. Audion - ‘Fever (KiNK remix)’ (Turbo Recordings)
ZZT - ‘Giving In’ (Turbo Recordings)
Lil’ Mark - ‘Mo’ (Hottwerk Records)
Louisahhh!!! & Maelstrom - ‘Nightclubbing’ (Bromance)
The Subs feat. Colonel Abrams - ‘Trapped (Ashworth remix)’ (Lektroluv Records)
Bobmo - ‘When I Look (feat. Shaun J. Wright)’ (Marble)
Metronomy - ‘Love Letters (Soulwax remix)’ (Because Music)

- - -

Mumbai Science, ‘Déjà Vu’, from the album of the same name

- - -

Mumbai Science online. ‘Déjà Vu’ is released on June 16th.

Buy Clash Magazine
Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android


Follow Clash: