A moody techno treasure trove
ClashMusic DJ Mix Podcast - Mike Shannon

Prolific Canadian producer Mike Shannon opens up a moody techno treasure trove for the latest Clash DJ podcast.

The Berlin-based Cynosure Recordings boss has long been hailed in high regard for his professional and uncompromising approach to dance music. Whether crafting minimal or ripping up dancefloors with barnstorming techno sets, Shannon always has quality firmly in mind.

As with his own productions (a choice few of which are included here), Shannon’s mix explores some refined and soulful dancefloor textures, but he’s never afraid to get on a harder, jagged techno flex when the time comes. Tracks by Ricardo Villalobos, Omar S and The Mole all feature.

Here’s Shannon himself to explain the idea behind the mix: “Feeling grey and sun-deprived in January I often dive into the deeper, darker side of my crate. I wanted to put a mix together that could flex a little Detroit-style techno muscle and at the same time show off the warmer side of my deep house selections to give the mix just a little hint of optimism. Plus it’s always nice to throw in a couple of secret weapons from a few friends… Well, I guess they aren’t secrets anymore…”

‘The Excutionist’ is released on February 14 on Exone.

(right click 'Save as...)

Mike Shannon tracklist

1. Mike Shannon - Within The Shard [Cynosure]
2. Mike Shannon - Sidewinder [Exone]
3. Dewalta - Semi Flying Objects
4. Ricardo Villalobos - Darkside Edit
5. Mike Shannon - Talking About [Cynosure]
6. Mike Shannon - Ghetto Ghost feat. EB [Cynosure]
7. Big Strick - Reckless Ron Cook [7 days]
8. Omar S - Solely Supported [FXHE]
9. Detroit Rocket Science: Vol. 2
10. Vril - Voices In Your Head [Giegling]
11. Mike Shannon - Made In Belgrade [Exone]
12. Mike Huckaby - Bassline 89 [Synth]
13. Claude Young - Changing Factors (mikedit) [Frictional]
14. Tazz - Piano Kinesis (Presk remix) [New Kanada]
15. Roman Rauch – Don’t Make Me Wait Too Long [lewdandloud]
16. Vera - Attachments Of The Past [Hello?Repeat]
17. Simbad Ft.Melo - Supersonic Revelation (Dave Aju Edit) [Raw Fusion]
18. The Mole - Bleep Blop Robot [Maybe Tomorrow]

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE


Follow Clash: