Dark, techy explorations and glitchy grime goodness...

Bolschy beats from a new-blood bass talent today, as rising producer Spare takes control.

And taking control is just what this newcomer excels at. With only a select batch of releases under his belt, Spare has already carved out a sonic base that mixes up grime, stripped-back dubstep, garage and leftfield bass, evident on his debut EP from earlier this year, ‘Slacking’, as well as his own offerings featured in this mix. These include a couple of tasty new cuts to be released on impressive grime-focused label Coyote Records, who the producer has been working with recently.

After a lush, winding opener from the man himself, Spare’s Clash mix fixes up a party mood and doesn’t look back. But though things of a bassy nature are the main staple, clubbier sounds, ‘90s-leaning house bangers, jungle and more sit alongside the dark, techy explorations and glitchy grime goodness. Pearson Sound, Zomby, Mark Pritchard and Paul Woolford – as Special Request – all feature in the selection.

Here’s Spare on the mix: "I put this mix together in a place that wouldn’t really be glamorous or cool enough to print, so let’s just say that it was a master studio. The idea behind it was to include more club/party-leaning tunes that I would play out in a set and to include a mix of other stuff.  There are some of my own tracks in there too, some forthcoming and others that will maybe see a release in the future."

Listen to it now... Grab it HERE.
Right click, 'Save As...'

1. Spare – Unknown [Unreleased]
2. Azealia Banks ft. Pharrell - ATM (Kaytranada Edition) [CDR]
3. Doc Daneeka ft. Ratcatcher - Walk on in [Numbers]
4. Leon Vynehall – Step or Stone (Breath or Bone) [3024]
5. Jesse Crabtree – Council [Hot Haus Recs]
6. Kodiak – Egyptian Kings [Hot Haus Recs]
7. DVA – Mad Hatter [Hyperdub]
8. Tessela – Gateway [R&S]
9. Toyc – Keyframe [Crazylegs]
10. Spare – You are for Me [Unreleased]
11. Morgan Zarate – Tayco [Hyperdub]
12. Spare – Glide [forthcoming on Coyote Records]
13. Mark Pritchard ft. Ragga Twins – 1234 [Warp]
14. Pearson Sound – Starburst [Hessle Audio]
15. Special Request - Undead [Houndstooth]
16. Spare – Shoot the Moon [Unreleased]
17. Kelela – Cut 4 Me [Fade to Mind]
18. Richelle – Bendin’ (Samename Remix) [CDR]
19. Visionist – Pain [Lit City]
20. Zomby ft. Last Japan – Pyrex Nights [4AD]
21. Spare – 1BLT [forthcoming on Coyote Records]
22. Mssingno – XE2 [Goon Club Allstars]
23. Samiyam - Snakes on the Moon [Leaving Records]
24. FKA Twigs – Ultraviolet [Young Turks]

Spare’s track ‘Katana’ is included as part of Coyote Records’ ‘Coyote Kings’ compilation, released on December 30th.

Words: Tristan Parker


The new issue of Clash magazine is out right now. It's always on the money with breakthrough acts worth listening to. So, go and see.


Follow Clash: