...sweet and sweaty vinyl-only selection
Shit Robot

Wonky disco-house producer Marcus Lambkin may be admittedly shit at being a robot, but he’s pretty bloody good at working up a dancefloor judging by this sweet and sweaty vinyl-only selection.

House producers influenced by the golden age of US disco may not be in short supply these days, but few execute their craft quite as irresistibly as Shit Robot, who brings elements of acid, psychedelia, techno, punk-funk and electronica to the table alongside those killer grooves that wouldn’t sound out of place at an NYC loft party from back in the day – something which James Murphy’s DFA Records picked up on when they released his nifty debut, ‘From the Cradle to the Rave’, in 2010.

Lambkin is now back with more dancefloor gold on his second album, and to celebrate (or “shamelessly promote”, as he wryly explains below), he’s put together a cracking mix for Clash. Kicking off with diamond-dusted classic house vibes in Chicago veteran Lidell Townsell’s ‘Nu Nu’, Lambkin effortlessly finds his stride, assembling a selection of stomping cuts, covering sweatbox house, stripped-back techno, dirty disco and all manner of no-frills, jackin’ grooves. Here’s Lambkin with the mix low-down:

“I did this mix to shamelessly promote my new album, ‘We Got A Love’, and my collaboration with Lidell Townsell. I am particularly proud of this collaboration as ‘Nu-Nu’ was one of my favourite tracks way back in ‘92. That was one of my favourite years in dance music and in honour of that I kept it an all-vinyl mix.

“It’s mostly old songs, but there are a couple of new things in there too. Some are six months old, some are two decades old, some are classics, some not, but I think there is a thread running through it. Hope you enjoy.”

Listen to it now... Grab it HERE.
Right click, 'Save As...'

1. Lidell Townsell – Nu Nu [Club House Records]
2. Iz & Diz – Mouth (Brad peep’s Remix for friends) [Classic]
3. Metro Area – Miura [Environ]
4. Mountain People – Mountain 004 [Mountain]
5. Mango Boy – Need A Fix (Dub) [Mango Boy Records]
6. Paranoid London – Transmission 5 [Paranoid London Records]
7. M.C.D.E. – Sun Sequence [Four Roses Recordings]
8. Spectacle – Prism [Permanent Vacation]
9. FNM – Verde [Save The Black Beauty]
10. Shit Robot – Do It (Right) Ft. Lidell Townsell [DFA Records]
11. DJ Disciple Meets David Tort & DJ Ruff – Crossroads [Innervisions]
12. AFX – PWSteal.Ldpinch [Analord]

Words: Tristan Parker

- - -

‘We Got A Love’ is out now on DFA Records.

Shit Robot plays the following live dates during May.

5 Cornwall The Masked Ball‬
‪9 Glasgow The Berkeley Suite
10 Manchester Gorilla

Buy Clash Magazine

Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: