It's called 'TH!!!LER'

!!! have unveiled plans for their new studio album 'TH!!!LER'. !!! are changing once again.

The multi-limbed American collective recently sealed off sessions for their sixth studio album - their third on new home Warp - and it seems that they just can't sit still. Due to be released on April 29th, Jim Eno sat behind the desk for the bulk of the recording sessions.

Adding unexpected elements to the sessions, the producer was keen to capture the frenzied excitement of the !!! live show. “They had this working flow that was a little rigid and I wanted to break them out of it" he commented recently.

Perhaps the funniest album title we've seen in a long time, 'THR!!!!ER' owes its moniker to a lengthy studio discussion. “Over the course of many long van rides and post-coffee verbal riff sessions, we concluded that Thriller didn't merely represent the selling of a lot of records, it became synonymous with an artist(s) and/or genre(s) artistic high-water mark. INXS’ Kick is the Australian Thriller, Alanis's Jagged Little Pill is the Canadian Thriller, Wham’s Make It Big is the blow-dryer’s Thriller, every recording by the 13th Floor Elevators is the dosed-man's Thriller, Sister Ray by Velvet Underground is the Thriller of musical fever dreams. One day at the studio, Nic (Offer) drew THR!!!ER on a napkin and I liked it, then we made our THR!!!ER.”

Fancy a quick teaser? Here you go.

- - -

'THR!!!LER' is due to be released on April 29th. Tracklisting:

1. Even When The Water’s Cold
2. Get That Rhythm Right
3. One Girl/ One Boy
4. Fine Fine Fine
5. Slyd
6. Californiyeah
7. Except Death
8. Careful
9. Station (Meet Me At The)


Follow Clash: