Check out a preview...
Tokyo Police Club

2014 could well be the return of the 'club' band.

After all, Bombay Bicycle Club and Slow Club are set to release new albums, while Two Door Cinema Club closed December with a sold out show at the O2 Arena.

As if to compound that (admittedly rather spurious) theory, Tokyo Police Club have signalled their return. 'Forcefield' will be released on March 24th, with Memphis Industries once again supporting the group in this country.

Produced by Doug Boehm and the band's own David Monks, the music is said to have an "honest" feel. Monks explains in a statement:

"Since writing started for Forcefield in mid-2011 there have been so many trends and every kind of ‘wave.’ We saw them all come and disappear or change into something broader. It left us wanting to make something that would last. We ended up rediscovering energy and guitars and simple, direct songs. There was certainly a lot of pressure to take the music somewhere new and there were lots of opinions about how to do that, but in the end we blocked all that out and followed our instincts. I think that’s what Forcefieldis—it doesn’t matter what else is going on out there, the music just has to be honest and have a real feeling to it."

New track 'Argentina (Parts I, II and III)' is online now. Check it out below.

'Forcefield' is set to be released on March 24th. Tracklisting:

1. Argentina (Parts I, II, III)
2. Hot Tonight
3. Miserable
4. Gonna Be Ready
5. Beaches
6. Toy Guns
7. Tunnel Vision
8. Through the Wire
9. Feel the Effect

Buy Clash magazine 
Clash on the App Store


Follow Clash: