A ‘shoulder-shaking’ selection of disco, funk, electro, synth-pop and jackin’ house
Coma Coast

Rising, disco-delving duo Coma Coast offer up a ‘shoulder-shaking’ selection of disco, funk, electro, synth-pop and jackin’ house for the latest exclusive Clash DJ mix.

Consisting of London-based DJ/singer Mariano Robles and Venezuelan DJ/producer Rey Morales (after they met in Caracas in 2012), the duo’s sound is an unashamedly nostalgic meander through hazy synth-pop and ’80s-saluting disco and funk flavours that pushes all the right buttons. Their ‘1989/The Ritual’ EP, released earlier this year, even dips gently into new wave to achieve its funky, rose-tinted synth-pop shine, and their follow-up – the second release in a series of three EPs – ‘Fail Better/Last Song’, takes a similarly sunny, funky approach that just can’t be ignored.

The duo’s Clash mix works its way through punchy Miami disco bliss, grooving house, glittery, glistening electro-pop and plenty in-between. Don’t feel bad if you don’t recognise many names from the tracklist – these are two crate-diggers who know their musical subject matter intimately and aren’t afraid to flaunt their knowledge – for your benefit, of course – through a series of rare and underground tracks that never stray too far from a deliciously funky trail. Here are a few succinct words from CC themselves:

“Our exclusive DJ mix kicks off with the Boogie Vice remix of our song ‘The Ritual’ and channels some of our influences and some deep house, shoulder-shaking favourites. Enjoy!”

Check it out now.

1. Coma Coast - The Mating Ritual (Boogie Vice Remix)
2. Frau Mai ft. Lovinsky – Stars (Anton Romezz Remix)
3. Glen Dale - California (Original Mix)
4. Lanvary - Rocky Rubble (Original Mix)
5. Aguizi, Fahim - No More (Original Mix)
6. RÜFÜS - Sundream (Claptone Remix)
7. Corbu - We Are Sound (Doorly Remix)
8. Studio Deep - Terminal (Original Mix)
9. Rosario Galati - Deep in My Chest (Vanilla Ace & Dharkfunkh Remix)
10. Pete Cave - Breathe (Original Mix)
11. Kruse & Nuernberg - They Don’t Know
12. Monolow feat. SeeAge - Children of the Night (Original Mix)
13. Andre Plati and Sugar Hill - Keep Me High (Original Mix)
14. Dan Caster and Bjorn Storig - That’s Right (Original Mix)
15. Abztrakte Maschine - Just Say it (Original Mix)
16. Wawa and Tune Brothers - Sing (The Veterans Remix)
17. Funkerman - Speed Up (Pete Bellis Remix)
18. Akabu Ft. Alex Mills - Everybody Wants Something (Giom Remix)
19. Florian Kruse and Kevin Knapp - The Block (Original Mix)
20. Appetizer and DK Foyer - It Gives Me (Original Mix)
21. Florian Kruse and Kevin Knapp - The Block (Original Mix)
22. Gioele Mazza - Don’t Stop, Can't Stop (Original Mix)

Words: Tristan Parker

- - -

‘Fail Better/Last Song’ is out now on Parissi La Musique Records.

Buy Clash Magazine
Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android


Follow Clash: