It's called 'bastards'

Bjork is set to release her 'Biophilia' related remix album 'bastards' on November 19th.

Part performance, part app, part album... 'Biophilia' was one of 2011's most confounding releases. Bjork, typically, was on peerless form with her songwriting again taking a number of unexpected turns and deviations. Fusing science with art, the Icelandic songwriter opened up about themes such as conservation, looking to her homeland for inspiration.

Now the artist has confirmed plans for a remix album based on 'Biophilia'. Named 'bastards' the compilation features a number of collaborations with producers specifically chosen for this project including Current Value, Death Grips, Hudson Mohawke, Alva Noto, Matthew Herbert, Omar Souleyman, 16-bit, These New Puritans, and The Slips.

“I felt it important to gather together the essence of the remixes,” said Björk of the project, “so I picked a quarter of them for one cd for people who are perhaps not too sassy downloaders or don’t have the time or energy to partake in the hunter-gathering rituals of the internet".

"I was incredibly impressed by how the core of the mixes took Biophilia somewhere else while still keeping its character, and like they so often do when at their best: the remixes gave the songs more beats; legs to dance on! I spent some time editing together not necessarily the best ones but the ones that made the strongest whole.”

'bastards' is set to be released on November 19th.


1. Crystalline (Omar Souleyman Remix)

2. Virus (Hudson Mohawke “Peaches and Guacamol” Rework)

3. Sacrifice (Death Grips Remix)

4. Sacrifice ((Matthew Herbert’s Pins And Needles Mix) edit)

5. Mutual Core (These New Puritans Remix featuring Soloman Is. Song)

6. Hollow (16-bit Remix)

7. Mutual Core (Matthew Herbert’s “Teutonic Plates” Mix)

8. Thunderbolt (Death Grips Remix)

9. Dark Matter (Alva Noto Remodel)

10. Thunderbolt (Omar Souleyman Remix)

11. Solstice (Current Value Remix)

12. Moon (The Slips Remix)

13. Crystalline (Matthew Herbert Remix)


Follow Clash: